Readings Interviews and Reviews

Readings Interviews and Reviews

20. February 2016

Reading

This Saturday! Downtown Victoria will be full of words. Looking forward to reading with Ash Smith for University of Houston-Victoria–

And I get to see Charles Alexander too! — celebrating Saturday with Melissa Studdard.

Reading with Ash Smith and Melissa Studdard

 

15. February 2016:

Review

Feeling deeply considered, seen, heard–

Many thanks to Andrew Carroll, Nicole Reese, Cynthia Reeser & Prick of the Spindle for this review of ‘I Ate the Cosmos for Breakfast’.

http://prickofthespindle.org/2016/02/13/i-ate-the-cosmos-for-breakfast-by-melissa-studdard/

 

11. February 2016

Reading

Neil Silberblatt:

Many thanks to the following poets & writers for reading brilliantly at our Voices of Poetry event tonight at Cornelia Street Café in NYC:

Amy King
Katherine Koch
Mark Statman
Melissa Studdard.

Special thanks to –

  • Angelo Verga – former co-owner of Cornelia Street Café – for hosting our events at this beautiful venue;

  • Joshua Rebell – curator of spoken word events at CSC – for welcoming our words in this great space; and, most importantly,

  • all those who attended this wonderful event for supporting the literary arts in our community.

Reading at Cornelia Street Cafe NYC with Melissa Studdard and Amy King

 

02. February 2016

Review

Many thanks to publisher Ami Kaye and reviewer Elizabeth Nichols for the beautiful review of ‘I Ate the Cosmos for Breakfast’ in issue 8.16 of Pirene’s Fountain. I’ve long admired PF’s aesthetic and depth, so it brings me great joy to see this review nestled in PF’s pages!

 

28. January 2016

Reading

Neil Silberblatt:

In honor of St. Valentine – the patron saint of lovers & chocolatiers – we have planned three (count ’em, three) excellent Voices of Poetry events in three (count ’em, three) excellent venues – a cafe in the heart of Greenwich Village (with great food & drink), an historic 19th century church on Cape Cod & a beautiful library in CT’s Litchfield Hills with stained glass murals and gold-leaf frescoes.

All of these events will feature two literary couples reading their own, and their respective partners’, work. One of these events will also feature music. All are worth attending.

Thursday, February 11 at 6 pm
Cornelia Street Cafe
29 Cornelia Street, NYC
– featuring poetry by Mark Statman & Katherine Koch; Amy King & Melissa Studdard.
Admission: $10 @ person (plus a one drink or $10 cover).

Sunday, February 14 at 2 pm
First Parish Brewster
1969 Main Street (Route 6A), Brewster, MA
– featuring poetry by Kristin Knowles & Thomas Fettig; Judith Partelow & Thom Slayter; music by First Parish’s Music Director Danica A. Buckley and by singer/songwriter Colette O’Connor.
Admission: FREE. (Suggested donation: $10 @ person.)
Those attending are asked to bring a bag (or two, or three) of non-perishable food items to be donated to The Family Pantry of Cape Cod in Harwich, MA.

Saturday, February 20 at 2 pm
Gunn Memorial Library
5 Wykeham Road, Washington, CT
– featuring poetry by Laurel Peterson & Van Hartmann; Marianela Medrano & Ralph Nazareth.
Admission: FREE. (Suggested donation: $10 @ person.)

Attend any or – if you want to earn Frequent Poetry Points – all. Bring your special someone(s) to each.

 

19. January 2016

Interview

Hooray! The new VIDA Voices & Views interview is here! Wonderful words from poet and editor Don Share:

“What we all do when poetry is at its best is activate the imagination—because to solve problems, and to create a world in which any kind of justice obtains, the imagination has to work.”

“The open door doesn’t just mean everybody gets to walk through. What it means is that somebody greets you.”

“I don’t know of a poet who doesn’t write out of the impulse to say, ‘The world could be better.’ That’s sort of the plot of every decent poem.”

See below for more!

–with Don Share
–with RJ Jeffreys

 

17. January 2016

I’m delighted to have three short poems in the January issue of ‘First Literary Review-East.” Two of the poems serve as epigraphs for sections in ‘I Ate the Cosmos for Breakfast.’ Many thanks to Cindy Sostchen-Hochman for a great issue!

http://www.rulrul.4mg.com

 

16. January 2016

I’m so happy to have two poems in Issue 19 of Cutthroat. So many writers I admire in this issue — Thanks, Pam & William for another beautiful issue!

http://www.cutthroatmag.com/CT_19_II.pdf

Leave a Reply